Justification (Sole Source)Posted May 22, 2025

F/A-18E/F Infrared Search and Track System (IRST) System Test Asset Rapid Repair (ISTARR)

NAVAIR and air warfare centers · NAVAL AIR WARFARE CENTER

Stage
Justification for other than full competition
NAICS
488190
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
N6893624D0006
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
J016
Place
Not stated
Contact
Ciera Wood (ciera.l.wood.civ@us.navy.mil)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation N6893624D0006 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Aug 5, 2024
    Sources Sought
    View
  • Sep 18, 2024
    Pre-solicitation
    View
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • May 22, 2025
    Award Notice
    LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION · $39.7M
    View
Other notices
  • May 22, 2025 · this notice
    Justification (Sole Source)

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • The agency intends to buy without full competition. Read the justification for the reason and the named source.

What the notice says

(1) This J&A contains Controlled Unclassified Information and is therefore attached as a secure document. Contractors must be certified through Defense Logistics Information Services in order to access Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) or Export Controlled Information. Access to CUI is limited, to a single point of contact (POC) per CAGE code, who is listed as the Data Custodian on the DD 2345 and approved by Defense Logistics Agency (DLA). The DD 2345 must be approved prior to requesting access to CUI in SAM.gov. Contractors are responsible for coordinating with their CAGE code�s Data… (show all)

Custodian POC to request access to CUI. For additional information, visit the DLA website for the Joint Certification Program: https://www.dla.mil/HQ/LogisticsOperations/Services/JCP/. (2) As required by FAR 6.305 this J&A is hereby posted for the aforementioned contract award.

Who won similar work

3 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (NAVAIR and air warfare centers), same product/service code (PSC) J016.

Single-winner award sizes (3): middle half $4.5M to $46.1M, median $6.0M; range $3.0M to $86.2M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
ROCKWELL COLLINS, INC. · $RTX · $93.5B1$86.2MSep 10, 2025
CALZONI S.R.L. Calderara Di Reno 40012 ITA1$6.0MMay 27, 2026
NORTHROP GRUMMAN SYSTEMS CORPORATION · $NOC · $42.9B1$3.0MMay 27, 2025

Value counts new single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling (same contract, or the same office, day and amount); that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Contract modifications are not new awards and are not added in either. Notices whose amount is a placeholder such as $999,999,999 are not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings.

Investor context
  • $RTX reported $93.5B revenue (12 months to Jun 30, 2026). The median single-winner award in these 3 past awards, $6.0M, is under 0.1% of that. SEC filing
  • $NOC reported $42.9B revenue (12 months to Jun 30, 2026). The median single-winner award in these 3 past awards, $6.0M, is under 0.1% of that. SEC filing

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 3 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines since 2024 (17 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines job
  • $827K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Armed Services, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Armed Services
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 8 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 32 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 2 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 5 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name, including the subsidiaries a company lists in its SEC filings. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.