Justification (Sole Source)Posted Mar 13, 2025

LM Follow On

NAVAIR and air warfare centers · NAVAL AIR WARFARE CENTER

Stage
Justification for other than full competition
NAICS
541330
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
N6893624R0001
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
AC33
Place
Not stated
Contact
Kyle Hedman (kyle.d.hedman.civ@us.navy.mil)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation N6893624R0001 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Nov 13, 2023
    Pre-solicitation
    Open
  • Nov 13, 2023
    Pre-solicitation
    Open
  • Nov 16, 2023
    Pre-solicitation
    Open
  • Dec 4, 2023
    Pre-solicitation
    Open
Solicitation
  • Jun 5, 2024
    Solicitation
    Open
  • Jun 6, 2024
    Solicitation
    Open
Award
  • Mar 4, 2025
    Award Notice
    LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION · $99.6M
    Open
Other notices
  • Mar 13, 2025 · this notice
    Justification (Sole Source)

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • The agency intends to buy without full competition. Read the justification for the reason and the named source.

What the notice says

As required by FAR 605-(a) this J&A is hereby posted for the aforementioned contract award

Who won similar work

5 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (NAVAL AIR WARFARE CENTER), same NAICS 541330.

Single-winner award sizes (5): middle half $16.0M to $100.0M, median $90.5M; range $9.5M to $159.9M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
RAYTHEON COMPANY · $RTX · $68.9B2$169.4MApr 22, 2025
NORTHROP GRUMMAN SYSTEMS CORPORATION · $NOC · $39.3B1$100.0MJun 1, 2026
ALLIANT TECHSYSTEMS OPERATIONS LLC1$90.5MJun 29, 2026
SCIENCE APPLICATIONS INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION · $SAIC · $7.4B1$16.0MJul 7, 2025

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $RTX reported $68.9B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 5 past awards, $90.5M, is 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $NOC reported $39.3B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 5 past awards, $90.5M, is 0.2% of that. 10-K
  • $SAIC reported $7.4B revenue in FY2026. The median single-winner award in these 5 past awards, $90.5M, is 1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 4 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines since 2024 (16 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines job
  • $921K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Armed Services, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Armed Services
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 8 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 32 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 3 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 1 insider buys and 5 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.