Special NoticePosted Aug 19, 2026·Responses due Sep 2, 2026

J--Intent to Sole Source for Maint of epMotion 5073

Interior (all) · OFC OF ACQUSITION GRANTS-NATIONAL

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
334516
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
140G0126Q0105
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
J066
Place
Not stated
Contact
Dixon, Mindie (mindie_dixon@ios.doi.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 140G0126Q0105 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Apr 6, 2026
    Sources Sought
    Open
  • Aug 19, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: May 15, 2026 to Jul 15, 2026, middle of the range Jun 7, 2026.
Measured from 20 past early notices at Us Geological Survey with NAICS 334516 that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Apr 6, 2026).
Responses are due Sep 2, 2026, so an award before then is unlikely; past cases include short solicitations.

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Reston Science Acquisition Team intends to award a sole source contract for the service and maintenance for the epMotion� 5073 automated liquid handling system to Eppendorf North America. This notice is issued in accordance with Revolutionary FAR Overhaul (RFO) 12.102(a), which specifies that Part 12 acquisition procedures apply to commercial products and services and shall take precedence where inconsistencies exist with other FAR parts. The USGS Columbia Environmental Research Center (CERC) requires a new firm-fixed-price service contract for the government … (show all)

owned epMotion 5073 automated liquid handling system for one base year (12 months) and four (4) option years to be provided by the original equipment manufacturer Eppendorf North America. Period of Performance October 1, 2026 - September 30, 2027, with option year coverage extending through 2031. Due to the proprietary design, specialized calibration requirements, and OEM controlled software and technical data associated with the epMotion 5073 automated liquid handling system, only Eppendorf's factory trained service technicians are authorized and equipped to perform maintenance, calibration, repair, and IQ/OQ qualification in accordance with manufacturer specifications. This procurement is being conducted under commercial acquisition procedures per RFO 12.102(a), as the services required meet the definition of commercial services under FAR 2.101. The NAICS code is 334516 Analytical Laboratory Instrument Manufacturing. The size standard is 1,000 Employees Period of Performance: One year with four option periods. Place of Performance: Columbia, Missouri Anticipated award date: 9/3/2026 This notice is not a request for competitive quotes. However, interested parties may submit capability statements demonstrating comprehensive knowledge of the epMotion�5073 automated liquid handling system and the specialized maintenance required to ensure continued functionality. Capability statements must be submitted by the date and time specified in this notice and must contain sufficient detail to permit Government review and consideration. Responses shall be emailed to: mindie_dixon@ios.doi.gov.

Who won similar work

5 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (OFC OF ACQUSITION GRANTS-NATIONAL), same product/service code (PSC) J066.

Single-winner award sizes (5): middle half $34K to $700K, median $100K; range $20K to $1.3M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
OTT HydroMet Corp1$1.3MSep 24, 2025
SIHALLA ZAKARIA 1700 BRYANT DR Round Rock TX 78664 USA1$700KAug 18, 2026
IN-SITU, INC · $BA · $77.8B1$100KSep 15, 2026
EMD MILLIPORE CORP1$34KAug 11, 2025
HITACHI HIGH-TECH AMERICA, INC.1$20KSep 15, 2025

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $BA reported $77.8B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 5 past awards, $100K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 5 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Interior, Dept of (DOI) since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Interior, Dept of (DOI) job
  • $292K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Natural Resources, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 149 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 1 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.