Susan Muffley Act of 2025
Summary
The Susan Muffley Act of 2025 (HR1357) is an early-stage bill requiring the PBGC to restore full pension benefits for Delphi retirees. It establishes a new fund but does not specify funding sources or directly impact any public company's revenue. The bill is referred to committee with 40 cosponsors. Market impact is near zero — insurance tickers MET, PRU, and AFL have no direct exposure to this targeted pension restoration.
See which stocks are affected
Key takeaways, market implications, full AI analysis, and connected signals are available to HillSignal members.
Already have an account? Log in
Key Takeaways
- 1.HR1357 is an early-stage bill with no hearings or markup — near zero probability of near-term enactment.
- 2.No dollar amount is specified for the new fund; actual funding requires separate appropriations.
- 3.No public company has direct revenue exposure to this bill — insurance tickers MET, PRU, AFL are included solely due to their pension/annuity businesses, but the bill does not affect them.
- 4.Market data shows MET +13.15%, PRU -0.18%, AFL +2.81% over 30 days — movements are driven by sector trends, not this bill.
Market Implications
No actionable market implications. The Susan Muffley Act is a targeted pension restoration for a single terminated plan affecting ~20,000 retirees. It does not alter PBGC premium rates, change pension risk transfer demand, or create new revenue streams for any public company. MET at $80.02, PRU at $97.51, and AFL at $112.79 are trading on fundamentals unrelated to this bill. Retail investors should ignore this bill until it advances to a meaningful legislative stage (committee markup or floor vote) and a specific dollar amount is attached.
Full Analysis
-
WHAT HAPPENED AND STATUS: Rep. Turner (R-OH) introduced HR1357 on 2025-02-13. It was referred to the House Education and Workforce Committee and the Ways and Means Committee. The bill requires the PBGC to recalculate and pay full vested monthly benefits plus lump-sum past-due payments to eligible participants of Delphi Corporation pension plans terminated during GM's 2009 bankruptcy. The bill establishes a new fund for these payments and specifies tax treatment of lump sums. It is in the early legislative stage — no hearings, no markups, no floor votes. 40 cosponsors (bipartisan) indicate some support but far from guaranteed passage. A companion bill (S1950) exists in the Senate. A related bill (HR1895) pursues the same objective through a different mechanism.
-
THE MONEY TRAIL: The bill does NOT specify a dollar amount for the new fund. Section 2 establishes a fund and provides appropriations, but the text — as available — does not quantify the total liability. Actual funding would require a separate appropriations step even if the bill is enacted. This distinguishes authorization (setting policy) from appropriation (actually allocating money). Without a dollar figure, the economic footprint is undefined. The PBGC's financial statements indicate it had a $35 billion single-employer deficit as of FY2024 — the Delphi restoration would increase that deficit by an unknown amount. Historically, PBGC premiums are paid by plan sponsors (employers with defined-benefit plans) at rates set by Congress. If the PBGC's deficit grows, Congress could raise premiums, affecting all companies with DB plans. However, that mechanism is multiple steps removed from this bill.
-
STRUCTURAL WINNERS AND LOSERS: The primary beneficiaries are approximately 20,000 Delphi retirees and their beneficiaries — not public company shareholders. The bill does not create new revenue streams for any public company. Financial institutions (MET, PRU, AFL) are included in tickers because of their role as life insurers and annuity providers, but the link is weak. Pension risk transfer (PRT) — where companies offload DB plan liabilities to insurers via group annuity contracts — is unaffected because Delphi's plan terminated in 2009 and is already under PBGC trusteeship. No new PRT demand is created. Insurance companies that manage assets for PBGC (e.g., asset management arms) could see marginal fee changes if the fund grows, but the magnitude is negligible relative to their total AUM.
-
REAL MARKET DATA ANALYSIS: MET closed at $80.02 on 2026-04-30, up 13.15% over 30 days and 2.99% over 7 days. Its 52-week range is $67.33–$83.85. PRU closed at $97.51, down 0.18% over 30 days but up 3.5% over 7 days. Its 52-week range is $91.89–$119.76. AFL closed at $112.79, up 2.81% over 30 days but down 1.6% over 7 days. Its 52-week range is $96.95–$119.32. None of these price movements correlate with this bill's legislative activity. The 30-day price changes are driven by sector-wide factors (interest rates, Q1 earnings, buyback activity), not by HR1357.
-
TIMELINE: The bill is at the beginning of the legislative process. Remaining steps: committee hearings, markups, House floor vote, Senate companion (S1950) passage, House-Senate conference, presidential signature. Given 40 cosponsors and the targeted nature (single-company pension restoration), path to passage is uncertain but possible in a broader pension reform package. No committee action has occurred since referral. The 119th Congress runs through January 2027, so there is time, but the bill is low-priority compared to budget, appropriations, and major authorization bills.
Connected Signals
Matched on shared policy language across AI analyses, with ticker & timing weight
Free — no credit card
Get the next market-moving signal before the news does
HillSignal scores every Congressional bill, federal contract, and insider filing for market impact and emails you the high-conviction ones — free, no credit card.
Weekly digest — the congressional activity that actually moved markets that week, in plain English. Free, one email.
Free forever plan · No credit card · Unsubscribe in one click
Want the live terminal too? Create a free account →