Justification (Sole Source)Posted Apr 23, 2026

N66001-26-P-6106: Notice of Justification for Sole Source Award to H3D, Inc. for Gamma-Ray Detectors

NIWC (Naval Information Warfare) · NIWC PACIFIC

Stage
Justification for other than full competition
NAICS
334519
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
N66001-26-P-6106
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6665
Place
Not stated
Contact
STEPHEN O'NEILL (stephen.oneill@navy.mil)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation N66001-26-P-6106 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
None posted
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Apr 23, 2026
    Award Notice
    H3D INC · $471K
    Open
Other notices
  • Apr 23, 2026 · this notice
    Justification (Sole Source)

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • The agency intends to buy without full competition. Read the justification for the reason and the named source.

What the notice says

In accordance with FAR 6.301, the Naval Information Warfare Center (NIWC) Pacific is posting the Justification and Approval for a sole-source contract that has been awarded to H3D, Inc. The award was for the procurement of Cadmium Zinc Telluride (CZT) gamma-ray detector packages to develop a Vehicle-Mounted Radiation Detection System (VMRDS). The sole-source action was justified based on a multi-year market research and testing effort which concluded that H3D, Inc. is the only source capable of manufacturing these detectors meeting the Governments essential technical and performance requiremen… (show all)

ts. This notice is for informational purposes only.

Who won similar work

7 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (NIWC (Naval Information Warfare)), same industry group (NAICS 3345).

Single-winner award sizes (7): middle half $690K to $8.7M, median $983K; range $100K to $145.0M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
Lockheed Martin Corporation · $LMT · $67.6B1$145.0MOct 7, 2026
LEIDOS, INC. · $LDOS · $15.3B1$13.0MNov 10, 2025
QUICKSET DEFENSE TECHNOLOGIES LLC1$4.4MJul 27, 2026
ADVANCED MEASUREMENT TECHNOLOGY INC · $AME · $6.6B1$983KJun 9, 2026
CRFS, INC.1$922KSep 16, 2025
LUXIUM SOLUTIONS, LLC1$458KSep 23, 2026
Clemson University 201 SIKES HALL Clemson SC 29634 USA1$100KSep 17, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $LMT reported $67.6B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 7 past awards, $983K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $LDOS reported $15.3B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 7 past awards, $983K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $AME reported $6.6B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 7 past awards, $983K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 7 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines since 2024 (9 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines job
  • $637K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Armed Services, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Armed Services
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 8 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 32 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 3 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 1 insider buys and 4 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.