Special NoticePosted Aug 18, 2026·Responses due Aug 24, 2026

66--Special Notice of Intent to Sole Source Award

Interior (all) · FWS, IT GOODS

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
334516
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
DOIFFBO260163
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6640
Place
Not stated
Contact
Duke, Carter (carter_duke@ios.doi.gov)
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation DOIFFBO260163 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Aug 18, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Sep 1, 2026
    Award Notice
    YSI INC · $39K
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Notice of Intent to Sole Source Award THIS IS A NOTICE OF INTENT TO AWARD A SOLE SOURCE CONTRACT AND IS NOT A REQUEST FOR COMPETITIVE QUOTES. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Communications Branch intends to award a firm fixed price sole source under the authority of FAR subpart 13.106-1(b)(1)(i) and (ii), for purchases not exceeding the Simplified Acquisition Threshold (SAT), Contracting Officers may solicit from only one source if the circumstances deem only one source is reasonably available (e.g., urgency, exclusive licensing agreements, brand name, or industrial mobilization).: YSI, INC. 17… (show all)

25 Brannum LN Yellow Springs, Ohio 45387-1107, United States The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code for this requirement is 334516, Analytical Laboratory Instrument Manufacturing, and the Product Service Code (PSC) for this requirement is 6640, Laboratory Equipment and Supplies. The object of this sole source award is to require the purchase of SonTek RS5 Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler (ADCP) to enable accurate and defensible measurement of streamflow in a wide range of field conditions. This device supports the direct collection of discharge data in both shallow and deep channels, including high velocity environments, and includes integrated quality assurance features that allow staff to review and document measurements in the field for regulatory and water rights purposes. The system must be fully portable, self contained, and field ready, as staff have limited time for equipment assembly or configuration prior to deployment and routinely conduct measurements at multiple sites in a single day. The device must also be compatible with the current program inventory of existing hydroboards, GNSS equipment, and established hydrologic workflows which are required to produce output files that can be incorporated into the WISKI database without custom programming. Accurate and repeatable streamflow measurements are required for National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) and National Fish Hatchery (NFH) water rights protection, ecological water management, and compliance with state mandated monitoring requirements. Without this equipment, WRB risks delays or inaccuracies in required flow measurements, which could lead to violations of state water rights conditions at significant cost to the government. The SonTek RS5 is the only ADCP that meets WRB operational and integration needs because it offers integrated RTK/GNSS, confirmed GPS compatibility, broad depth suitability, lightweight deployment, and a fully self contained design with built in power and communications. All other vendors researched, were determined to not be suitable for meeting WRB needs. This synopsis does not constitute a solicitation; however, if any interested party believes they can meet the above requirement, it may submit a statement of capabilities. The statement of capabilities must be submitted in writing and must contain clear and convincing evidence that competition of this requirement would be advantageous to the Government. If parties choose to respond, any cost associated with preparation and submission of data or any other cost incurred in response to this announcement are the sole responsibility of the respondent and will not be reimbursed by the Government. Capability statements shall be submitted by e-mail ONLY as a Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF attachment to the following address: carter_duke@ios.doi.gov. NO TELEPHONE REQUESTS/OFFERS WILL BE HONORED

Who won similar work

9 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Match: Same office, same NAICS 334516.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
LIFE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION · $TMO2$76KMay 20, 2026
SMITH-ROOT INC2$42KApr 8, 2025
AGILENT TECHNOLOGIES INC · $A1$54KMay 13, 2026
LEICA MICROSYSTEMS INC.1$41KFeb 5, 2026
INNOVASEA MARINE SYSTEMS CANADA INC1$37KDec 6, 2024
QIAGEN, LLC1$17KMay 19, 2026
GOVERNMENT SCIENTIFIC SOURCE INC1$13KJul 9, 2025

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 7 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Interior, Dept of (DOI) since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Interior, Dept of (DOI) job
  • $45K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Natural Resources, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 149 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards.

  • 2 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 8 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.