Special NoticePosted Sep 3, 2026·Responses due Sep 18, 2026

66--Notice of Intent to Sole Source K.R. Komarek Inc

Energy · NATIONAL ENERGY TECHNOLOGY LABORATORY

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
334516
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
89243326NFE000261
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6640
Place
Not stated
Contact
Page, Stefanie (stefanie.page@netl.doe.gov)
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 89243326NFE000261 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Sep 3, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Sep 24, 2026 to Oct 3, 2026, middle of the range Sep 28, 2026.
Measured from 29 past early notices at Energy, Department of with NAICS 334516 that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Sep 3, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Notice of Intent to Sole Source to K.R. Komarek Inc. In accordance with Revolutionary FAR Overhaul (RFO) Part 12 - Acquisition of Commercial Products and Commercial Services, the Department of Energy (DOE), National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL) intends to negotiate and award a purchase order on a sole source basis to K.R. Komarek Inc. for the purchase of a highly specialized, laboratory-to-pilot scale HPGR instrument to process, comminute, and perform size reduction of various research materials at the Albany, Oregon site to support mission-critical materials programs. This is considere… (show all)

d a sole source to K.R. Komarek Inc. because, to the best of NETL�s knowledge, based on market research conducted, K.R. Komarek Inc. is the only known source that can provide this product to the required specifications. K.R. Komarek Inc.�s KR-330 HPGR is the only known equipment that meets all the unique physical footprint, variable-capacity throughput, custom support integration, and certified safety parameters required for NETL�s active research portfolio. No known potential alternate sources exist which could satisfy NETL�s highly specific research requirements and integrate the physical constraints, throughput versatility, and structural safety certifications required for this installation. This notice of intent is not a request or quote/proposal. Any interested party that believes it is capable of meeting the NETL requirement described herein may identify themselves and must provide evidence of their capability to fulfill the requirement being requested by 1300 PM ED on 09/18/2026. Responses must be submitted in writing to the Contract Specialist Stefanie Page, via email at stefanie.page@netl.doe.gov no later than the time and date noted above. Telephone responses and requests will not be received. A determination by the Government not to compete this requirement based on responses to this notice is solely within the discretion of the Government. Information received will be considered solely for the purpose of determining whether to conduct competitive procurement.

Who won similar work

44 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Match: Same office, same NAICS 334516.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
GOVERNMENT SCIENTIFIC SOURCE INC3$327KSep 23, 2026
NEW ENGLAND RESEARCH, INC.2$1.2MSep 28, 2026
PERKINELMER U.S. LLC2$976KSep 18, 2026
MALVERN PANALYTICAL INC2$626KSep 30, 2026
PARR INSTRUMENT COMPANY2$473KSep 22, 2026
SAMYAK SOLUTIONS, INC.2$176KSep 24, 2026
AGILENT TECHNOLOGIES INC · $A2$149KAug 7, 2026
FEDCORP SERVICES, INC.2$109KSep 17, 2026
RBD INSTRUMENTS, INC2$90KJun 24, 2026
NORTH STAR IMAGING INCORPORATED2$59KJul 22, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Energy, Dept of since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Energy, Dept of job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 75 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards.

  • 1 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 1 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.