Sources SoughtPosted Mar 3, 2026·Responses due Mar 18, 2026

Z--Cableway Crane Refurbishment

Bureau of Reclamation · LOWER COLORADO REGIONAL OFFICE

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
237990
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
140R3026R0010
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
Z1KA
Place
Not stated
Contact
Watanga, Maxwell (mwatanga@usbr.gov)
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 140R3026R0010 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Mar 3, 2026 · this notice
    Sources Sought
  • May 7, 2026
    Pre-solicitation
    Open
Solicitation
  • Jun 17, 2026
    Solicitation
    Open
  • Jul 9, 2026
    Solicitation
    Open
  • Jul 20, 2026
    Solicitation
    Open
  • Aug 12, 2026
    Solicitation
    Open
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Jul 28, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026, middle of the range Oct 20, 2026.
Measured from 34 past early notices at Bureau of Reclamation with NAICS 237990 that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Mar 3, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

CABLEWAY CRANE REFURBISHMENT NOTICE: This is not a Solicitation, but rather a Sources Sought Notice to determine potential sources for information and planning purposes only. No formal Solicitation exists at this time for this work. The Bureau of Reclamation, Lower Colorado Basin Region, Acquisition and Assistance Management Office (AAMO) has a need for Cableway Crane Refurbishment services. The principal objective is to provide services for refurbishing the 150-ton cableway crane at Hoover Dam. The ground to the middle of the track cables is approximately 600 feet. When work is being complete… (show all)

d on the NV tower, the ground is approximately 100 feet below. The track cables spans from the AZ anchorage to behind the NV tower. The length of the track cable is 1,615�, most of which is above the canyon. The NAICS for this requirement is 237990 � Other Heavy and Civil Engineering Construction. The Small Business Size Standard is $45.0 million. A draft Statement of Work (SOW) is included with this Sources Sought Notice which states the Cableway Crane Refurbishment and specific qualifications required. BACKGROUND INFORMATION: The 150�ton cableway crane refurbishment will take place at Hoover Dam, spanning both the Nevada and Arizona sides, with most work occurring above the canyon. The vertical distance from the ground to the midpoint of the track cables is approximately 600 feet. The crane has not undergone significant work since the 1996 ACT project (1425�CC�30�11090). A similar solicitation issued in FY24 produced no viable responses. The renewed solicitation incorporates all previously identified deficiencies, positioning this effort for successful engagement and execution by interested parties. IMPORTANT NOTES: 1. The period of performance of this contract 850 days after award. a. Within the first year, all materials need to be procured and delivered on site b. Installation and all onsite work will be performed in year two. 2. Onsite work is scheduled to begin for May of 2028, pending completion of penstock outage, due to plant activity. 3. The principal components of work include: � Replace the 6, 3-�" track wire ropes. � Replace the 2, 3/4� button line wire ropes, buttons and button line tensioners � Replace the 1-1/8� inhaul, outhaul and hoist wire ropes. � Refurbish the existing carriage � Redesign the slack carrier eye area, refurbish and install slack carriers � Replace sheaves � Lubricate the hoist house mechanical components � Re-tension the track cables � Replace the hydraulic hand pump and lines on the NV side tensioning system � Load test the cableway crane � Perform an annual inspection and certify the crane The capabilities package should include the following information: 1. Provide business name, Unique Entity ID number, address and primary point of contact to include e-mail address, telephone number and website if applicable. 2. Business size and type (Small business, Women Owned Small Business, HUBZone, Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business, Indian Small Business Economic Enterprise, other). 3. Demonstrate the firm's capability and experience by providing a list of projects completed where the work involved similar contracts in the past five years, and in which your firm performed the work. Additionally, for each project listed, provide the following: � Brief description of the work performed � Project title � Dollar value of the job, � Prime/Subcontractor, � Location, � Customer's contact name and phone number for the work completed. (not to exceed 5pages) 4. Bonding capacity per contract/action. Interested vendors are encouraged to respond with their capability statement, small business socioeconomic certification(s), Unique Entity ID number, and primary point of contact. All responses must be submitted via email to the Contract Specialist, Max Watanga, at mwatanga@usbr.gov, by March 17, 2026, at 5:00PM PDT. Prospective Contractors are required to be registered and must maintain an active registration in the System for Award Management, (SAM), as required by FAR 4.1102. Prospective contractors must be registered prior to any prospective award. Lack of registration in the SAM database will make an offeror ineligible for prospective award. Information on SAM registration can be obtained via the internet at https://www.sam.gov. The purpose of this notice is to gain knowledge of interest, capabilities, and qualifications of potential contractors for solicitation planning purposes only. The anticipated set-aside will be determined based on the responses to this Sources Sought. This is NOT a request for proposals and is NOT to be construed as a commitment by the Government. Responses to this Sources Sought Notice will be used by the Government to make appropriate acquisition decisions. All interested sources must respond to future solicitation announcements separately from this Sources Sought Notice. No reimbursement will be made for any costs associated with providing information in response to this notice. Point of Contact: Max Watanga Contract Specialist mwatanga@usbr.gov

Who won similar work

8 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Match: Same office, same NAICS 237990.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
MCMILLEN, INC.1$7.2MMar 13, 2026
AC LOPEZ CONSTRUCTION INC1$897KDec 20, 2024
IOI CONSTRUCTION CORP.1$776KMar 16, 2026
VASTGLOBE LOGISTICS LLC1$406KAug 8, 2026
CANYON EDGE CONTRACTING, LLC1$266KMar 31, 2026
WORTHINGTON PRODUCTS, LLC1$55KMay 26, 2026
GLOBAL ROCK WORKS LLC1– + 1 sharedSep 16, 2025
GEOVERT LLC1– + 1 sharedSep 16, 2025

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Bureau of Reclamation since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Bureau of Reclamation job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 0 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards.

  • 0 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.