Special NoticePosted Jul 31, 2026·Responses due Aug 17, 2026

R--Notice of Intent to Sole Source - Wood Mackenzie

Energy · NATIONAL ENERGY TECHNOLOGY LABORATORY

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
541690
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
89243326NFE000245
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
R425
Place
Not stated
Contact
Lahey, David J. (David.Lahey@netl.doe.gov)
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 89243326NFE000245 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Jul 31, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Aug 26, 2026
    Award Notice
    WOOD MACKENZIE INC · $87K
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Notice of Intent to Sole Source for access to Wood Mackenzie Inc. U.S. Gulf Coast Pipeline, Louisiana Gulf Coast Crude Storage, and Texas Gulf Coast Crude Storage subscriptions with an estimated period of performance of 09/01/2026 � 08/31/2027 with two (2) one-year options through 08/31/2029. In accordance with Revolutionary FAR Overhaul (RFO) Part 12 - Acquisition of Commercial Products and Commercial Services, the Department of Energy (DOE), National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL) intends to negotiate and award a purchase order on a sole source basis to Wood Mackenzie Inc. for the afore… (show all)

mentioned subscriptions because these subscriptions provide real-time data on supply and demand in the global commodity markets, with no equivalent in the global and national energy analysis industry. Unlike other data groups, Wood Mackenzie uses its own network of thousands of patented physical sensors to measure the flow of energy throughout the nation, while these other groups use self-reported numbers or rely on official government reports. This real-time data and available research is proprietary and of unique value to the Office of Petroleum Reserves (OPR), whose mission relies on data-driven analysis for critical decision-making on current and future projects. This is considered a sole source to Wood Mackenzie Inc. because to the best of NETL�s knowledge, Wood Mackenzie Inc. is the only known source that can provide the required subscription access. No known potential alternate sources exist which could satisfy this requirement. This notice of intent is not a request or quote/proposal. Any interested party that believes it is capable of meeting the NETL requirement described herein may identify themselves and must provide evidence of their capability to fulfill the requirement being requested by 1700 PM EDT on August 17, 2026. Responses must be submitted in writing to the Contract Specialist David Lahey, via email at David.Lahey@netl.doe.gov no later than the time and date noted above. Telephone responses and requests will not be received. A determination by the Government not to compete this requirement based on responses to this notice is solely within the discretion of the Government. Information received will be considered solely for the purpose of determining whether to conduct competitive procurement.

Who won similar work

12 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Match: Same agency (Energy), same NAICS 541690.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
DOW MOUNTAIN LLC3$231KSep 24, 2025
ATLANTIC COUNCIL OF THE UNITED STATES, INC.2$150KJul 31, 2026
TRANSPACIFIC TECHNOLOGIES, INC1$25.1MAug 29, 2025
WASHINGTON STATE UNIVERSITY ATTN BETSY JINKS PO BOX 641025 Pullman WA 99164 USA1$2.0MJul 14, 2025
ENTHALPION ENERGY LLC1$598KSep 17, 2026
ARROWHEAD ECONOMICS LLC1$175KAug 14, 2026
GREEN POWERED TECHNOLOGY LLC1$133KSep 4, 2026
UTILICAST LLC1$108KJan 3, 2025
EMP2, INC.1$13KJun 5, 2025

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Energy, Dept of since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Energy, Dept of job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 75 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards.

  • 0 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.