Sources SoughtPosted Feb 10, 2025·Responses due Feb 14, 2025

Worldwide Paint Program

Military Sealift Command · MSCHQ NORFOLK

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
325510
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
N3220525D4035
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
8010
Place
Not stated
Contact
Vinnie Principe (vinnie.m.principe.civ@us.navy.mil)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation N3220525D4035 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Feb 10, 2025 · this notice
    Sources Sought
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Jun 13, 2025
    Award Notice
    PPG INDUSTRIES INC · $18.9M
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Request for Information (RFI) Military Sealift Command Worldwide Paint Program The Military Sealift Command (MSC) requires paints, coatings, solvents, preservation products, and engineering/technical services in support of MSC�s Engineering Division (N7). The bridge contract would provide continuous paints, coatings, solvents, preservation products and services on a worldwide basis within specific time constraints defined by the contract. The Contractor would provide products and services for MSC and USS Naval ships and any other Government owned or Government chartered vessels designated by M… (show all)

SC. The Government intends to issue a Sole Source Bridge Contract to the incumbent Contractor. The incumbent Contractor is currently performing MSC Worldwide Paint Program that acquires paints, coatings, solvents, preservation products and services under a commodity contract N3220524D0035 that provides required products and services. Respondents are encouraged to provide any feedback regarding industry�s ability to ramp up and meet the Government�s requirement for seamless service continuation under the subject requirement as described in the SOW included in this announcement. Specifically, the government is seeking feedback about: Industry�s ability to provide a fully staffed team, meeting all professional and clearance requirements by the required start date of 14 June 2025. Each response should also include: Company name Company address Company point of contact, phone and email address Company Business Size (i.e., other than small business or small business) Feedback on the ability to meet all requirements listed above and in the included SOW. The NAICS Code is 325510 � Paint and Coating Manufacturing. Please limit responses to three (3) pages. Not responding to this request does not preclude participation in future requests, if such are issued. General questions regarding this request may be submitted via email to Vinnie Principe at vinnie.m.principe.civ@us.navy.mil and Alvinia Jenkins at alvinia.r.jenkins.civ@us.navy.mil no later than 14 February 2025, 4:00PM Local Time, Norfolk, VA. Please note, during this time the government is unable to provide direct responses to questions received in response to this RFI. However, due consideration will be given to all feedback and any feedback received may be used to revise the requirements. This is not a request for proposals, and no contract will be awarded as result to responses received. This announcement is for market research and planning purpose only. This is not a solicitation and no contract will be awarded from this announcement. This announcement is not constructed in any way as a commitment by the Government, nor will the Government pay for the information submitted in response.

Who won similar work

294 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (Military Sealift Command), any industry: a loose match.

Loose match: same agency, any industry. Read the titles before treating these as competitors.

Single-winner award sizes (294): middle half $2.2M to $17.7M, median $5.7M; range $80K to $1.1B.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
WATERMAN TRANSPORT INC23$174.2MSep 11, 2026
DETYENS SHIPYARDS INC15$314.8MJun 16, 2026
SCHUYLER LINE NAVIGATION COMPANY15$147.9MSep 16, 2026
TSP TANKERS HOLDINGS LLC13$50.5MFeb 12, 2026
Alabama Shipyard LLC12$222.4MJul 1, 2026
CROWLEY-STENA MARINE SOLUTIONS LLC10$48.8MDec 29, 2025
American Roll-On Roll-Off Carrier, LLC9$47.3MSep 11, 2026
LIBERTY GLOBAL LOGISTICS LLC9$45.8MSep 11, 2026
U.S. MARINE MANAGEMENT, LLC8$142.7MSep 25, 2026
FEDERATED MARITIME LLC8$121.5MSep 16, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 32 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 0 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.