Special NoticePosted Aug 5, 2026·Responses due Aug 10, 2026

Handheld Backscatter Xray Imager

Justice (all) · DRUG ENFORCEMENT ADMINISTRATION

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
334517
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
D-26-ON-0046
Set-aside
No Set aside used
PSC
6635
Place
Not stated
Contact
Kathrine Leach (kathrine.r.leach@dea.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation D-26-ON-0046 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Aug 5, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Aug 21, 2026 to Dec 23, 2026, middle of the range Sep 12, 2026.
Measured from 13 past early notices at Drug Enforcement Administration that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Aug 5, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Notice of Intent to Sole Source Purchase Handheld Backscatter Xray Imager 1. Introduction The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) intends to award a sole-source, firm-fixed-price purchase order for the Handheld Backscatter Xray for the Omaha Field Division. 2. Authority This acquisition is being conducted under the authority of FAR 12.102 soliciting from a single source for purchases not exceeding the Simplified Acquisition Threshold (SAT). 3. Description of Requirement Item/Service: Handheld Backscatter Xray Imager 4. Justification for Single Source The required X-ray Imager by Videray Tech… (show all)

nologies, Inc. is the only known equipment that meets the agency�s specifications for size, spectrum, and level of detection necessary to effectively analyze contents within concealed compartments encountered in daily enforcement operations, including the ability to manage the specific density of concealed compartments, boxes, traps, and other illicit means of concealment. 5. Response Instructions This is not a request for quotes, and a solicitation will not be issued. Interested parties may submit a capability statement for consideration by the agency. 6. Points of Contact Contracting Officer: Kathrine Leach Email: Kathrine.r.leach@dea.gov

Who won similar work

3 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (Justice (all)), same product/service code (PSC) 6635.

Single-winner award sizes (3): middle half $33K to $79K, median $35K; range $31K to $123K.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
LAFAYETTE INSTRUMENT COMPANY1$123KApr 9, 2026
N & S WATER ASSISTANCE LLC1$35KNov 14, 2024
V NOTARY SERVICE LLC1$31KNov 6, 2024

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 3 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Justice, Dept of (DOJ) since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Justice, Dept of (DOJ) job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 125 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 0 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.