Special NoticePosted Jun 12, 2025·Responses due Jun 28, 2025

J--NOI Service Maintenance Contract for Panalytical X-ray equipment. Equipment inc

Energy · NATIONAL ENERGY TECHNOLOGY LABORATORY

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
334516
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
89243325NFE000205
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
J066
Place
Not stated
Contact
Lynch, Shannon H. (Shannon.Lynch@netl.doe.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 89243325NFE000205 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Jun 12, 2025 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Jul 10, 2025
    Award Notice
    MALVERN PANALYTICAL INC · $54K
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Notice of Intent to Sole Source to Malvern Panalytical Advance Service Contact In accordance with Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Part 13, Simplified Acquisition Procedures, the Department of Energy (DOE), National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL) intends to negotiate and award a purchase order on a sole source basis to Malvern Panalytical for Service Maintenance Contract for Panalytical X-ray equipment. Equipment includes, X-Pert Powder MDP X-ray Diffraction System DY 3769 and Axios-Max X-ray Fluorescence System #DY5728 because all major components for instruments of this nature are p… (show all)

roprietary to the manufacturer and must be serviced and replaced by factory-trained technicians in order to avoid costly damage to the instrument and prevent injury to its users. The maintenance renewal includes full functionality, technical support, and upgrades, no cost exchange of equipment or loaner equipment, use of remote diagnostics program, and scheduled preventive maintenance. This is considered a sole source to Malvern Panalytical because, to the best of the NETL�s knowledge and based on market research conducted Malvern Panalytical is the only known source that can provide this type of service and has proprietary rights of the equipment. No known potential alternate sources exist which could satisfy NETL's requirement. This notice of intent is not a request for quote/proposal. Any interested party that believes it is capable of meeting the NETL requirement described herein may identify themselves and must provide evidence of their capability to fulfill the requirement being requested by 13:00 PM on 06/28/2025. Responses must be submitted in writing to Shannon.Lynch@netl.doe.gov no later than the time and date noted above. Telephone responses and requests will not be received. A determination by the Government not to compete this requirement based on responses to this notice is solely within the discretion of the Government. Information received will be considered solely for the purpose of determining whether to conduct a competitive procurement.

Who won similar work

8 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (NATIONAL ENERGY TECHNOLOGY LABORATORY), same product/service code (PSC) J066 and NAICS 334516.

Single-winner award sizes (8): middle half $35K to $69K, median $52K; range $29K to $91K.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
AGILENT TECHNOLOGIES INC · $A · $6.8B2$149KAug 7, 2026
RBD INSTRUMENTS, INC2$90KJun 24, 2026
NORTH STAR IMAGING INCORPORATED · $ITW · $16.1B2$59KJul 22, 2026
JEOL USA, INC.1$91KJul 23, 2025
BRUKER AXS LLC · $BRKR · $3.0B1$50KAug 5, 2025

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $A reported $6.8B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 8 past awards, $52K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $ITW reported $16.1B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 8 past awards, $52K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $BRKR reported $3.0B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 8 past awards, $52K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 5 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Energy, Dept of since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Energy, Dept of job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 75 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 3 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 1 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.