Special NoticePosted Sep 5, 2025·Responses due Sep 10, 2025

6640--JAK2 Molecular Reagents

Veterans Affairs · 248-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 8 (36C248)

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
334516
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
36C24825Q1195
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6640
Place
Not stated
Contact
Todd Pappas (todd.pappas@va.gov)
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 36C24825Q1195 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Sep 5, 2025 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Oct 1, 2025
    Award Notice
    FRANKLIN YOUNG INTERNATIONAL, INCORPORATED · $83K
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Special Notice Special Notice Page 3 of 3 Special Notice *= Required Field Special Notice Page 1 of 3 Notice of Intent to Award as Sole Source: The Department of Veterans Affairs, NCO 8, intends to award a Sole Source, Firm-Fixed Price contract to Franklin Young International, Inc (FY) for the purchase of FDA-approved, Brand Specific Qiagen reagents for performing PCR and RE-PCR testing JAK2 Gene Expression and Pathogen Detection testing on government-owned instrumentation for VISN 08 locations, as stated in the Statement of Need. It is the Government s belief that the proposed candidate is th… (show all)

e only SDVOSB sole source provider of the brand specific Qiagen reagents. This is not a request for competitive offers, and no solicitation is available. Market research has determined that these services are highly specialized and are only available from a single source without an unacceptable delay or duplication of cost and no other type of services will satisfy agency requirements. The Government intends to award the contract to Franklin Young International, Inc 1042 N. Mountain Ave #310 Upland, CA 91766. FY is to provide all reagents and all consumables (including, but not limited to, all reagents, controls and calibrators) necessary produce a JAK2 Gene Expression and Pathogen Detection test result (CPT) using the government-owned QIAGEN QIAgility® System, including the QIAcuity digital PCR, EZ2® Connect MDx, and Rotor-Gene® Q MDx System. FY is the only authorized SDVOSB source that can provide the required reagents for the government owned equipment. This announcement is being issued for information purposes only and does not constitute a solicitation or request for competitive proposals. Responsible sources may identify their interest by submitting their capability information and an OEM Authorization Letter by 1PM EST, on Wednesday September 15th, 2025. Interested firms must indicate their socio-economic status and if they are U.S. or foreign owned. A decision by the Government not to compete this proposed contract based upon responses to this notice is solely within the discretion of the Government. The information received will normally be considered solely for the purpose of determining whether to conduct a competitive procurement. The Government will not be responsible for any costs associated with the preparation of responses to this notification. All inquiries and submittals must be sent via email to Todd Pappas, Contracting Officer, at todd.pappas@va.gov. Telephone inquiries will not be accepted.

Who won similar work

6 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (248-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 8 (36C248)), same product/service code (PSC) 6640 and NAICS 334516.

Single-winner award sizes (6): middle half $587K to $3.3M, median $1.7M; range $282K to $3.6M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
POLYMEDCO CANCER DIAGNOSTIC PRODUCTS LLC2$4.2MApr 16, 2026
CEPHEID SUNNYVALE 940892$843KOct 5, 2026
SEBIA, INC.1$3.6MMay 4, 2026
Fisher Scientific Company · $TMO · $42.9B1$2.7MMar 31, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $TMO reported $42.9B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 6 past awards, $1.7M, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 4 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) since 2024 (1 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) job
  • $40K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Veterans' Affairs, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 7 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 25 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 1 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 7 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.