Special NoticePosted Feb 20, 2026·Responses due Feb 27, 2026

6550--Notice of Intent to Sole Source - Cepheid Reagents - IND

Veterans Affairs · 250-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 10 (36C250)

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
325413
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
36C25026Q0328
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6550
Place
Not stated
Contact
Rachel MacRae (rachel.macrae@va.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 36C25026Q0328 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Feb 20, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Mar 6, 2026
    Award Notice
    CEPHEID SUNNYVALE 94089 · $613K
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Page 4 of 4 Notice of Intent to Sole Source Department of Veterans Affairs, VISN 10, Indianapolis VAMC, 1481 W. 10th St, Indianapolis, IN 46202, intends to solicit and negotiate with only one source under Simplified Acquisition Procedures and the authority of FAR Part 6.302-1, Only One Responsible Source for Reagents. The associated NAICS code for this is 325413. The vendor will be Cepheid Inc., 904 East Caribbean Drive, Sunnyvale, CA 94089. Description of Equipment or Supplies Added to Current Contract: Product Name QTY KIT,CDIFF/EPI,GX,IVD,10-TEST (GXCDIFF/EPI-10) 30 KIT,CARBA-R,IVD,GX (GXCA… (show all)

RBAR-10) 20 KIT,MTB,IVD,US (GXMTB/RIF-US-10) 10 KIT,XPRESS,MVP,US-IVD,10 TEST (XPRSMVP-10) 70 KIT,FII/FV,10-TESTS,GX,IVD (GXFIIFV-10) 50 COLLECTION KIT,XPERT SWAB,US IVD,50 (SWAB/G-50-US) 15 KIT,10 TEST,XPRESS COVID PLUS,US-IVD 150 KIT,IVD,XPRESS,COV-2/FLU/RSV PLUS,10TEST 700 Indianapolis Pathology Lab utilizes these reagent kits with existing Cepheid GeneXpert DX instruments for diagnostic tests. A firm fixed price contract is anticipated and shall be awarded. It is the Government's belief that only the proposed candidate possesses the required capabilities to successfully meet this requirement. It is the Government's intention to negotiate with only this source. This notice of intent is not a request for competitive proposals. It is not a solicitation or request for offers. No solicitation package is available. Any response to this notice must show clear and convincing evidence that competition would be advantageous to the Government. Responses must be received no later than 12:00 pm on Friday, February 27, 2026. Point of contact is Rachel MacRae, e-mail rachel.macrae@va.gov.

Who won similar work

3 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (250-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 10 (36C250)), same product/service code (PSC) 6550.

Single-winner award sizes (3): middle half $104K to $400K, median $125K; range $82K to $675K.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
CEPHEID Sunnyvale CA 94089 USA1$675KApr 22, 2026
QUIDELORTHO SALES COMPANY · $QDEL · $3.0B1$125KOct 1, 2026
ABBOTT RAPID DX NORTH AMERICA LLC · $ABT · $40.1B1$82KMay 19, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $QDEL reported $3.0B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 3 past awards, $125K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $ABT reported $40.1B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 3 past awards, $125K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 3 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) since 2024 (5 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) job
  • $48K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Veterans' Affairs, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 5 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 25 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 2 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 2 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.