Special NoticePosted Aug 11, 2026·Original deadline passed (Aug 25). See latest amendment for current deadline.

in vitro transcription (IVT) production and bottling service for mRNA drug-like substance material

Commerce (all) · DEPT OF COMMERCE NIST

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
Not stated
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
NB645080-26-02073
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
Not stated
Place
Not stated
Contact
Not stated
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation NB645080-26-02073 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Aug 11, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Oct 7, 2026 to Dec 16, 2026, middle of the range Oct 30, 2026.
Measured from 19 past early notices at National Institute of Standards and Technology that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Aug 11, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

FBO ANNOUNCEMENT: PRESOLICITATION NOTICE, NOTICE OF INTENT ACTION CODE: SPECIAL NOTICE SUBJECT: Sole source � in vitro transcription (IVT) production and bottling service for mRNA drug-like substance material SOLICITATION NUMBER: NB645080-26-02073 RESPONSE DATE: 8/25/26 DESCRIPTION: The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Material Measurement Laboratory (MML), Biomolecular Measurement Division (BMD) in Gaithersburg, Maryland is responsible for the development of reference standards to accomplish NIST�s mission to support the Biomanufacturing industry and underpin measurement… (show all)

s for therapeutics and health, and to carry out sale of standard reference materials in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations 15 CFR Part 230. The production of an mRNA reference material provides the Biomanufacturing community and instrument vendors a well-characterized, traceable, certified reference standard to underpin critical quality attribute (CQAs) measurement assays for mRNA drug substance. The reference standard enables quality control of mRNA assays over time and between assays, establishing necessary traceability for assuring safety and supporting regulatory submissions. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) intends to negotiate on a sole source basis, under the authority of FAR Part 12.102(b) with CellScript located in Madison, WI, for this reference material. Sole Source justification is based on the following: Market research has shown that CELLSCRIPT, LLC (Madison, WI) is the only known source with the necessary intellectual property rights and licensing authority (USPatent 8278036 and US10702600) to produce and provide mRNA generated by in vitro transcription (IVT) using modified uridines in a manner that permits lawful resale and redistribution through NIST as a Standard Reference Material (SRM). NIST stakeholders (the biomanufacturing industry) almost exclusively use modified uridines when producing their mRNA-based therapeutics to submit through clinical trials, and require a Reference Standard made with that attribute. Although other entities may have the technical capability to synthesize mRNA, they do not possess the required licensing rights for this specific application. CELLSCRIPT serves as the licensing authority for the relevant patented technology and is the only vendor able to provide the material while ensuring compliance with applicable intellectual property restrictions. NAICS code for this requirement will be 325414� Biological Product (except Diagnostic) Manufacturing with a small business size of 1,250 employees. No solicitation package will be issued. This notice of intent is not a request for competitive quotations; however, interested parties who regard themselves as capable of fulfilling these requirements are invited to submit responses to the Government for consideration. Responses received by 1:00AM EST on 8/25/26 will be considered by the Government. A determination by the Government not to compete the proposed acquisition based upon responses to this notice is solely within the discretion of the Government. Information received will normally be considered solely for the purpose of determining whether to conduct a competitive procurement. Inquiry POCs Erik.Fycklund@nist.gov Primary Donald.Graham@nist.gov Secondary National Institutes of Standards and Technologies NIST Acquisition Management Division (AMD) 100 Bureau Dr. Mail Stop 1640 Gaithersburg, MD. 20899-1640

Recent Agency Awards (Loose Match)

775 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (Commerce (all)), any industry: a loose match.

Loose match: same agency, any industry. Read the titles before treating these as competitors.

Single-winner award sizes (744): middle half $39K to $458K, median $100K; range $3K to $8.0B.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
GROUND LEVEL SERVICES LLC15$22.5MSep 23, 2026
TECHNICAL COMMUNITIES, INC.12$2.4MOct 7, 2026
GOVERNMENT SCIENTIFIC SOURCE INC7$411KSep 22, 2026
TOPTICA PHOTONICS INC6$614KOct 7, 2026
TITANIUM LOGISTIC SERVICES, LLC6$558KFeb 24, 2026
PARYMON CORP5$3.5MSep 21, 2026
Carl Zeiss Microscopy, LLC4$2.7MSep 24, 2026
AGILENT TECHNOLOGIES INC · $A · $7.4B4$1.5MSep 23, 2025
Rohde & Schwarz USA, Inc.4$1.0MSep 30, 2026
GOVAGE, INC.4$898KOct 1, 2026

Value counts new single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling (same contract, or the same office, day and amount); that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Contract modifications are not new awards and are not added in either (1 here). Revenue next to a ticker is the company's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings.

Investor context
  • $A reported $7.4B revenue (12 months to Jul 31, 2026). The median single-winner award in these 744 past awards, $100K, is under 0.1% of that. SEC filing

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Commerce, Dept of (DOC) since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Commerce, Dept of (DOC) job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 373 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 1 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 1 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name, including the subsidiaries a company lists in its SEC filings. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.