Special NoticePosted Oct 15, 2026·Responses due Oct 19, 2026

Raw Materials for Magnetic Alloy Development

NASA · NASA SHARED SERVICES CENTER

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
325180
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
80NSSC27944045Q
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6810
Place
Not stated
Contact
Cody Guidry (cody.d.guidry@nasa.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 80NSSC27944045Q in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Oct 15, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Dec 2, 2026 to May 20, 2027, middle of the range Feb 19, 2027.
Measured from 23 past early notices at National Aeronautics and Space Administration that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Oct 15, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

SPECIAL NOTICE: VENDORS MUST REFERENCE THE NOTICE ID WHEN SUBMITTING A CAPABILITY STATEMENT. NASA/NSSC has a requirement for Raw Materials for Magnetic Alloy Development NASA/NSSC intends to issue a sole source contract to AMERICAN ELEMENTS under the authority of FAR 12.102(a). It has been determined that AMERICAN ELEMENTS is the sole provider of Raw Materials for Magnetic Alloy Development NASA/NSSC will be the procuring center for this effort. Performance will be located at NASA/ Glenn Research Center (GRC). The Government intends to acquire Commercial items or services using the provisions,… (show all)

clauses and procedures prescribed in FAR Part 12 for Commercial The NAICS Code for this procurement is 325180. Interested organizations may submit their capabilities and qualifications to perform the effort in writing to the identified point of contact not later than 3:00 p.m. Central Standard Time on 10/19/2026. Such capabilities/qualifications will be evaluated solely for the purpose of determining whether or not to conduct this procurement on a competitive basis. A determination by the Government not to compete this proposed effort on a full and open competition basis, based upon responses to this notice, is solely within the discretion of the government. Oral communications are not acceptable in response to this notice. NOTE: Quotes received in response to this notice will NOT be considered and will not be evaluated by NASA�s Technical End User Team. We are currently only requesting Capability Statements. NASA FAR Supplement Clause 1852.215-84, Ombudsman, is applicable. The Center Ombudsman for this acquisition can be found at https://www.hq.nasa.gov/office/procurement/regs/Procurement-Ombuds-Comp-Advocate-Listing.pdf . Primary Point of Contact: Cody Guidry Procurement Specialist II Cody.d.guidry@nasa.gov

Who won similar work

4 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (NASA), same industry group (NAICS 3251).

Single-winner award sizes (4): middle half $4.1M to $17.3M, median $8.5M; range $1.2M to $33.1M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
LINDE INC. · $LIN · $35.4B1$33.1MOct 6, 2026
COSMODYNE, LLC1$12.0MJun 16, 2026
ELECTRONIC FLUOROCARBONS, LLC1$5.0MMar 28, 2025
SILVER BLUEMOON LLC1$1.2MSep 18, 2025

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $LIN reported $35.4B revenue (12 months to Jun 30, 2026). The median single-winner award in these 4 past awards, $8.5M, is under 0.1% of that. SEC filing

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 4 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Natl Aeronautics & Space Administration (NASA) since 2024 (2 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Natl Aeronautics & Space Administration (NASA) job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 16 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 1 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 1 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.