Special NoticePosted Mar 25, 2025·Original deadline passed (Mar 26). See latest amendment for current deadline.

6530--Omnicell Pharmacy Cabinets - Notice of Intent to Sole Source

Veterans Affairs · 250-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 10 (36C250)

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
339112
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
36C25025Q0316
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6530
Place
Not stated
Contact
Jeffrey Rozema (jeffrey.rozema@va.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 36C25025Q0316 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Mar 25, 2025 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Apr 1, 2025
    Award Notice
    Omnicell, Inc. · $1.6M
    Open
Other notices
  • Apr 1, 2025
    Justification (Sole Source)
    OMNICELL, INC. · $1.6M
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

INTENT TO SOLE SOURCE The Department of Veterans Affairs, VHA Regional Procurement Office Central, Network Contracting Office 10, intends to enter into a sole source procurement for Omnicell Pharmacy Cabinets for the Lieutenant Colonel Charles S. Kettles VA Medical Center, 2215 Fuller Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105. The Department of Veterans Affairs intends to award a sole source, firm-fixed price FSS delivery order to Omnicell, Inc., 590 Cranberry Woods Drive, Cranberry Township, PA 16066. The associated North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code is 339112 Surgical and Medical Ins… (show all)

trument Manufacturing, and the Business Size Standard is 1,000 Employees. The Omnicell dispensing cabinets originally specified for this order (MED-FRM-10X Series), including additional equipment such as drawers, guidelights, organizers, software, locks, and shelves, were scheduled to be ordered from Omnicell, Inc. s FSS contract 36F79723D0073. Prior to award, it was discovered the MED-FRM-10X Series cabinets were no longer available for purchase. Functionally equivalent MED-FRM-50X Series cabinets are available but are currently considered open market pending addition to the FSS contract. It is in the Government s best interest to include the open market items in the larger FSS order for administrative convenience in accordance with FAR 8.402(f). Splitting off the open market items from this order will unduly delay award of the dispensing cabinets, which are necessary for a complete and fully functional system. With a delay in the award of the dispensing cabinets, scheduling for installation and activation of the new system would need to be postponed, and it is very likely that installation and activation would not occur until next year due to the large number of upgrades occurring throughout VA, causing the Ann Arbor VA Pharmacy to miss their target activation timeline. This notice satisfies the requirement at FAR 5.201(b)(1) to publicize the proposed contract action. This notice of intent is not a request for competitive proposals or quotes. Interested parties may identify their interest and capability to respond to the requirement. A determination not to compete this requirement, based upon responses to this notice, is solely within the discretion of the Government. Interested persons may identify their interests and capability to respond to this requirement no later than 5:00 PM Eastern Time, Wednesday, March 26, 2025. Any response to this notice must show clear and convincing evidence that competition would be advantageous to the Government. Supporting evidence must be furnished in sufficient detail to demonstrate the ability to meet the subject requirement. This information shall be provided at no cost or obligation to the Government. Interest/capability statements shall be submitted to Jeffrey Rozema, Contracting Officer, via e-mail at jeffrey.rozema@va.gov. Telephone inquiries will not be accepted.

Who won similar work

3 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (250-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 10 (36C250)), same product/service code (PSC) 6530 and NAICS 339112.

Single-winner award sizes (3): middle half $122K to $207K, median $183K; range $62K to $231K.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
Omnicell, Inc. · $OMCL · $1.2B2$293KMay 11, 2026
STERIS CORPORATION · $STE · $6.0B1$183KApr 13, 2026

Value counts new single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling (same contract, or the same office, day and amount); that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Contract modifications are not new awards and are not added in either. Notices whose amount is a placeholder such as $999,999,999 are not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings.

Investor context
  • $OMCL reported $1.2B revenue (12 months to Jun 30, 2026). The median single-winner award in these 3 past awards, $183K, is under 0.1% of that. SEC filing
  • $STE reported $6.0B revenue (12 months to Jun 30, 2026). The median single-winner award in these 3 past awards, $183K, is under 0.1% of that. SEC filing

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards
  • May 11, 2026Omnicell, Inc.$62K6530--Equipment - Omnicell Cabinets for Pharmacy - CincinnatiMateriality: <0.01% of $OMCL revenue (Low) SEC
  • Apr 13, 2026STERIS CORPORATION$183K6530--Surgical Instrument Cart WasherMateriality: <0.01% of $STE revenue (Low) SEC
  • Sep 9, 2025Omnicell, Inc.$231K6530--Automated Dispensing Cabinets Indianapolis VAMCMateriality: 0.02% of $OMCL revenue (Low) SEC

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 2 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) job
  • $17K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Veterans' Affairs, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 25 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 2 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 1 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name, including the subsidiaries a company lists in its SEC filings. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.