Special NoticePosted Aug 27, 2026·Responses due Aug 31, 2026

66--AQUADOPP PROFILERS

Interior (all) · OFFICE OF ACQUISITON GRANTS

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
334516
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
140G0326Q0210
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6640
Place
Not stated
Contact
Nuno, Victor (vnuno@usgs.gov)
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 140G0326Q0210 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Aug 27, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Oct 5, 2026 to Dec 5, 2026, middle of the range Oct 28, 2026.
Measured from 20 past early notices at Us Geological Survey with NAICS 334516 that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Aug 27, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

This is a notice of intent to solicit from a single source. The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) intends to award a purchase order to Nortek USA Inc. for a Nortek Aquadopp Profiler 2 MHz Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler. The award will be made in accordance with Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Part 12, Acquisition of Commercial Products and Commercial Services, and the applicable simplified acquisition procedures. The USGS requires an acoustic Doppler current profiler capable of providing high-resolution current measurements and wave-measurement capability for scientific field deployments. … (show all)

The required instrument must operate at a 2 MHz acoustic frequency, include an integrated solid-state magnetometer/compass, provide up to 200 measurement cells in standard profiling mode and up to 256 cells in high-resolution mode, and be compatible with existing Government deployment systems. The Government currently owns and operates Nortek Aquadopp instruments. Continued use of the Nortek Aquadopp instrument family is necessary to maintain compatibility with existing mounting hardware, field procedures, instrument configuration methods, data-processing workflows, and historical scientific datasets. Based on market research, Nortek USA Inc. is the only identified source capable of providing the required combination of technical, physical, compatibility, and data-continuity requirements. This notice is to satisfy the requirements of FAR Subpart 5.2. This notice of intent is not a request for competitive quotes. However, all responsible parties may submit a capability statement which shall be considered by the agency. No solicitation will be issued. A determination not to compete this action based upon responses received is in the sole discretion of the Government. The applicable NAICS code is 334516 - Analytical Laboratory Instrument Manufacturing. Responses or inquiries shall only be accepted through electronic mail addressed to victor_nuno@ios.doi.gov and must be received in their entirety no later than August 31, 2026, at 12:00 PM Eastern Time. Responses submitted by hardcopy or through any other web portal shall not be accepted or considered.

Who won similar work

130 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (Interior (all)), same product/service code (PSC) 6640.

Single-winner award sizes (130): middle half $19K to $79K, median $37K; range $192 to $897K.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
GOVERNMENT SCIENTIFIC SOURCE INC15$1.0MSep 21, 2026
ILLUMINA, INC. · $ILMN · $4.5B9$701KSep 1, 2026
FRANKLIN YOUNG INTERNATIONAL, INCORPORATED9$632KSep 17, 2026
LIFE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION · $TMO · $42.9B8$451KSep 18, 2026
Fisher Scientific Company · $TMO · $42.9B5$191KAug 15, 2025
GOLD STANDARD DIAGNOSTICS HORSHAM, LLC5$184KJun 10, 2026
TECHNICAL COMMUNITIES, INC.3$411KApr 16, 2026
FRONTIER PRECISION, INC2$375KSep 4, 2026
VPRIME TECH INC2$152KAug 30, 2026
AGILENT TECHNOLOGIES INC2$95KMay 13, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $ILMN reported $4.5B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 130 past awards, $37K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $TMO reported $42.9B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 130 past awards, $37K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Interior, Dept of (DOI) since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Interior, Dept of (DOI) job
  • $45K from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Natural Resources, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 149 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 2 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 11 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.