Special NoticePosted Dec 1, 2025·Original deadline passed (Dec 10). See latest amendment for current deadline.

J066--New - VISN 17 GeneXpert Analyzer M&R Consolidated IDIQ

Veterans Affairs · 257-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 17 (36C257)

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
811210
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
36C25726Q0147
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
J066
Place
Not stated
Contact
Delphia Schoenfeld (delphia.schoenfeld@va.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 36C25726Q0147 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Dec 1, 2025 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
  • Mar 12, 2026
    Award Notice
    CEPHEID SUNNYVALE 94089 · $1.8M
    Open

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Special Notice Special Notice Page 3 of 3 Special Notice Notice of Intent to Award a Sole Source Procurement The Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, Network Contracting Office 17, intends to award a Firm-Fixed price, single-award IDIQ to Cepheid for procurement of the following supplies and services ( X represents Ordering Periods 1-5): Line Item Item Description Unit of Measure Quantity X001 GeneXpert Infinity Service Agreement - El Paso YR 1 X002 GeneXpert Infinity Service Agreement - South Texas YR 1 X003 GX 16-16 Advantage Service Agreement - Central Texas YR 3 … (show all)

X004 GeneXpert Advantage Service Agreement - Big Spring YR 1 X005 GeneXpert Advantage Service Agreement - Amarillo YR 4 X006 GeneXpert Service Agreement - Valley Coastal Bend YR 3 The requested items are for modules, reagents, and maintenance services to be used at the Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Service (P&LMS) in multiple locations within Veterans Integrated Service Network (VISN) 17. Services are currently being provided for the El Paso, South Texas, Central Texas, Big Spring, and Amarillo VA Healthcare Systems. This notice is not to be considered a request for quotations or proposals. A contract will not be awarded based on an offer received in response to this notice; however, all responsible sources may submit a capability statement, proposal, or quotation, by email, to the point of contact and referencing the notice ID 36C25726Q0147, which shall be considered by the agency. Proposals or offers received will be used to determine if a comparable source is available and more advantageous to the government. If no affirmative written response is received within 10 calendar days from the publication of this notice, a contract/order will be issued to Cepheid without any further notice. The proposed contract actions are for supplies, which the government intends to negotiate with only one source. The anticipated statutory authorities permitting other than full and open competition for the requirement are 41 U.S.C. 3304(a)(1) and 41 U.S.C. 1901, as implemented by RFO FAR 12.102(b), Only one responsible source and no other supplies or services will satisfy agency requirements. The proposed sole source procurement will be made by a pricing agreement with Cepheid.

Who won similar work

12 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (257-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 17 (36C257)), same product/service code (PSC) J066 and NAICS 811210.

Single-winner award sizes (12): middle half $68K to $273K, median $125K; range $16K to $871K.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
RICHARD-ALLAN SCIENTIFIC LLC2$109KJul 24, 2026
XENEX DISINFECTION SERVICES INC.1$871KJan 15, 2025
ILLUMINA, INC. · $ILMN · $4.5B1$497KJun 12, 2025
FULL SPECTRUM GROUP, LLC1$438KApr 1, 2025
ROCHE DIAGNOSTICS CORPORATION1$218KAug 24, 2026
LEICA MICROSYSTEMS INC.1$183KJun 12, 2026
NEXUS GROUP, LLC1$144KMar 24, 2026
BIOMERIEUX INC1$105KAug 12, 2026
RADIOMETER AMERICA, INC.1$72KJul 14, 2026
BECKMAN COULTER, INC1$56KNov 18, 2025

Value counts new single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling (same contract, or the same office, day and amount); that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Contract modifications are not new awards and are not added in either. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings.

Investor context
  • $ILMN reported $4.5B revenue (12 months to Jun 28, 2026). The median single-winner award in these 12 past awards, $125K, is under 0.1% of that. SEC filing

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) since 2024 (6 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 25 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 1 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 4 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name, including the subsidiaries a company lists in its SEC filings. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.