Sources SoughtPosted Nov 5, 2024·Original deadline passed (Nov 26). See latest amendment for current deadline.

Maintenance and Repair - Area Maintenance Support Activity (AMSA) - Sacramento, CA

Army Corps of Engineers · W072 ENDIST LOUISVILLE

In plain words

Army Corps of Engineers is planning to buy "Maintenance and Repair - Area Maintenance Support Activity (AMSA) - Sacramento, CA". This is an early notice: it is not taking bids yet. The work is in Sacramento, CA, USA. The original due date (Nov 26, 2024) has passed; check the latest amendment for the current one. In the last 2 years, similar work went to 10 or more companies, usually for about $13.0M per award. An award could come any day: the usual time to award has passed.

Put together from the facts on this page; the details and sources are below.

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
236220
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
W912QR-25-AMSA-Sacramento
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
Not stated
Place
Sacramento, CA, USA
Contact
Rachael McClellan (Rachael.L.McClellan@usace.army.mil)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation W912QR-25-AMSA-Sacramento in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Nov 5, 2024 · this notice
    Sources Sought
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Expected award: Any day (median passed). Typical range Feb 25, 2025 to Jul 18, 2025; middle Apr 1, 2025.
Measured from 62 past early notices at Dept of the Army with NAICS 236220 that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Nov 5, 2024).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

Subject: FY25 Sacramento Area Maintenance Support Activity (AMSA), Maintenance and Repair, Army Reserve (MRAR) California Notice ID: W912QR-25-AMSA-Sacramento Response Date: 26 November 2024 Description: A market survey is being conducted in order to make acquisition decisions about a future project and to determine if there are a reasonable number of interested small business concerns to classify this future project as a small business set aside. If your firm is a Small Business, certified HUBZone, 8(a), Woman-Owned Small Business, or Service Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business and you are … (show all)

interested in this project, please respond appropriately. Please note this is NOT a Request for Proposal and does not constitute any commitment by the Government. Responses to this sources-sought notice will be used by the Government to make appropriate acquisition decisions. All interested sources must respond to future solicitation announcements separately from responses to this market survey. The proposed Design/Build project is for the renovation and minor addition to the 11,596 square foot Area Maintenance Support Activity (AMSA) / Vehicle Maintenance Shop (VMS), Building B-655 collocated at the BT Collins Army Reserve Center (ARC) in Sacramento, California. The addition will add 3,108 SF to the existing building which was constructed in 2000. Building components and systems to be repaired include the Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC), electrical distribution, water distribution, fire alarm and suppression systems, ceilings, windows, doors, floor coverings, interior reconfiguration, and interior finishes. The project will also include a new work bay addition to the existing facility. The project will also repair the exterior and finishes. All hazardous materials (HAZMAT) removed as part of the demolition will be disposed of following all state and federal guidelines. Sustainability/Energy measures and Cybersecurity measures will be provided. Measures in accordance with the Department of Defense (DoD) Minimum Antiterrorism for Buildings standards are incorporated. Access for individuals with disabilities will be provided. Facilities will be designed in accordance with Unified Facilities Criteria (UFC) 4-171-05 and to a minimum life of 40 years in accordance with UFC 1-200-02, including energy efficiencies, building envelope and integrated building systems performance. Contract duration is estimated at 540 calendar days. The estimated cost range is between $10,000,000 and $25,000,000. NAICS code is 236220. All interested Small Businesses, certified HUBZone, 8(a), Woman-Owned Small Businesses, or Service Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business contractors should respond to this survey by email no later than 26 November 2024 at 2:00 PM (Eastern Standard Time). Responses should include: 1. Identification and verification of the company�s small business status. 2. Contractor�s Unique Identifier Number and CAGE Code(s). 3. Documentation from the firm�s bonding company showing current single and aggregate performance and payment bond limits. 4. Descriptions of Experience � Interested construction firms must provide your firm�s past experience on no more than three (3) projects which are similar to this project in size and scope. Acceptable projects will have greater than 95% construction completion or will have been completed in the past five (5) years. Please ensure your response demonstrates experience that includes self-performing 15% of the construction and provide documentation demonstrating experience for combined renovation and new building projects of similar types of buildings involving management of multiple sub-contractors. Each project must include the name, title, project role, e-mail address, and telephone number of at least one reference. References may be used to verify project size, scope, dollar value, percentages, and quality of performance. Projects similar in scope to this project include: New construction or renovation of Army Reserve Centers, Military Headquarters buildings, educational facilities, Vehicle Maintenance shops, and Office buildings. Please note that construction of pre-engineered metal buildings (PEMB) does not qualify as a project of similar scope. Projects similar in size to this project include: Building(s) of at least 10,000 square feet Based on the information above, for each project submitted, include: Current percentage of construction complete and the date when it was or will be completed Size of the project Scope of the project The dollar value of the construction contract The percentage of work that was self-performed. Describe the work your company self-performed. Submitted projects must be at least 15% self-performed Whether the project was design-bid build or design-build Whether the project was renovation or new construction Whether the firm served as the Prime Contractor or a Sub-Contractor 5. Small Businesses are reminded under FAR 52.219-14, Limitations on Subcontracting, that they must perform at least 15% of the cost of the contract, not including the cost of materials, with the firm�s own employees for general construction-type procurement. Include the percentage of work that will be self-performed on this project and how it will be accomplished. NOTE: Total submittal package shall be no longer than 8 pages. Please only include a narrative of the requested information; additional information will not be reviewed. Email responses to Contract Specialist Rachael McClellan at Rachael.L.McClellan@usace.army.mil. If you have questions, please call Ms. McClellan at 502-315-6661. NOTICE: The following information is provided for situational awareness. Active registration in SAM is not required to respond to this Sources Sought notice. All contractors must be registered in the System for Award Management (www.SAM.gov) prior to award of a contract. All proposed contractors are highly encouraged to review FAR Clause 52.232-33 Payments by Electronic Funds Transfer � System for Award Management, which indicates �All payments by the Government under this contract shall be made by electronic funds transfer (EFT).� Those not currently registered can obtain a Unique Entity ID (UEI - formerly known as a DUNS number) by going to the Entity Registration link at SAM.gov (https://sam.gov/content/entity-registration). Please begin the registration process immediately in order to avoid delay of the contract award should your firm be selected. Additional requirements for being eligible to compete for Federal Contracts can be found at the Basic requirements section of the Contracting Guide at SAM.gov (https://www.sba.gov/federal-contracting/contracting-guide/basic-requirements#id-register-with-sam). Additional resources can be found on the U.S. Small Business Administration website (https://www.sba.gov).

Who won similar work

46 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same office (W072 ENDIST LOUISVILLE), same NAICS 236220.

Single-winner award sizes (46): middle half $6.6M to $22.1M, median $13.0M; range $95K to $134.4M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
Howard W. Pence, Inc.4$30.4MSep 30, 2026
Butt Construction Company4$23.9MSep 24, 2025
BENAKA, INC.2$42.8MJan 15, 2026
Gideon Contracting, Limited2$12.7MSep 18, 2025
T & T CONSTRUCTION ENTERPRISES, LLC2$502KOct 1, 2026
Harper Construction Company1$134.4MSep 18, 2025
MESSER CONSTRUCTION CO Cincinnati OH 45203 USA1$82.5MSep 21, 2026
J. E. DUNN CONSTRUCTION COMPANY1$54.8MSep 19, 2025
BL HARBERT INTERNATIONAL LLC1$46.0MNov 19, 2025
COX CONSTRUCTION CO Vista CA 92081 USA1$36.6MMar 19, 2026

Value counts new single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling (same contract, or the same office, day and amount); that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Contract modifications are not new awards and are not added in either. Notices whose amount is a placeholder such as $999,999,999 are not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 0 of these past winners lobbied Army, Dept of (Corps of Engineers) or Army, Dept of (Other) or Natl Guard since 2024 (0 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Army, Dept of (Corps of Engineers) or Army, Dept of (Other) or Natl Guard job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 32 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 0 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name, including the subsidiaries a company lists in its SEC filings. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.