Special NoticePosted Sep 23, 2026·Responses due Sep 28, 2026

6550--VISN 19 Lab BioFire Reagents & Maintenance on Biofire TORCH systems Intent to Sole Source

Veterans Affairs · NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 19 (36C259)

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
325413
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
36C25926Q0870
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
6550
Place
Not stated
Contact
Juanita Street (Juanita.Street@va.gov)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation 36C25926Q0870 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Sep 23, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Oct 6, 2026 to Nov 16, 2026, middle of the range Oct 19, 2026.
Measured from 128 past early notices at Veterans Affairs, Department of with NAICS 325413 that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Sep 23, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

In accordance with FAR 538.7104-3 this Notice of Intent is to inform all parties the Department of Veterans Affairs, Network Contracting Office (NCO) 19 located at 6162 South Willow Drive Suite 300, Greenwood Village, CO 80111 intends to award a sole source procurement for the following requirement to the large business, Biomerieux, Inc. 515 South Colorow Dr., Salt Lake City, UT 84108: Biofire Reagents and Maintenance on Biofire systems This requirement is for a base plus four option year, FSS-Blanket Purchase Agreement for Biofire Reagents and Maintenance on Government owned Biofire TORCH sys… (show all)

tems. A base plus four option year FSS-BPA is required for Cheyenne VA Medical Center, Eastern Oklahoma VA Health Care System (Muskogee), Grand Junction VA Medical Center, James Mountain Inhofe VA Medical Center, Salt Lake City VA Health Care System, and Sheridan VA Medical Center. This requirement will be awarded as a sole source to Biomerieux, Inc. (a large business) for Biofire reagents and maintenance on Biofire TORCH systems for VISN19 VA Medical Centers. The above VA facilities currently own Biofire/Biomerieux manufactured TORCH systems. Reagents for the system is needed for laboratory testing and maintenance on the systems are also needed for base plus four option years. These are proprietary systems wherein only Biofire reagents can be used on the analyzers and only Biofire/Biomerieux certified and licensed technicians are allowed to perform maintenance on the systems. The associated North America Classification Systems (NAICS) Code is 325416 and the Business Size Standard is 1250 employees. THIS NOTICE OF INTENT IS NOT A REQUEST FOR COMPETITIVE QUOTES. Interested parties may identify their interest and capability to respond to this requirement no later than 10:00am Mountain Time, Monday, September 28th, 2026. Information received in response to this notice must clearly demonstrate the capability of meeting the Government s need as stated above. Include any relevant information (specifications, cut sheets, brochures, capability statement, etc.) confirming the ability to supply the products and/or any services outlined in this notice. Responses to this notice are to be sent to Juanita.Street@va.gov. A determination not to compete this requirement, based upon responses to this notice, is solely within the discretion of the Government. The Government is not responsible for any potential costs incurred from interested parties desiring to respond to this notice.

Who won similar work

89 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (Veterans Affairs), same product/service code (PSC) 6550.

Single-winner award sizes (87): middle half $377K to $1.3M, median $688K; range $30K to $151.7M.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
CEPHEID SUNNYVALE 9408911$26.2MApr 15, 2026
ROCHE DIAGNOSTICS CORPORATION11$14.7MAug 28, 2026
BECKMAN COULTER, INC.11$6.8MOct 2, 2026
BIOMERIEUX INC5$9.8MOct 1, 2026
CEPHEID Sunnyvale CA 94089 USA4$40.5MJun 26, 2026
GOVERNMENT SCIENTIFIC SOURCE INC4$5.2MJun 2, 2026
POLYMEDCO CANCER DIAGNOSTIC PRODUCTS LLC3$4.5MApr 9, 2026
WERFEN USA LLC3$2.6MOct 1, 2026
TOSOH BIOSCIENCE, INC.2$4.1MMar 18, 2026
SIEMENS HEALTHCARE DIAGNOSTICS INC.2$2.5MOct 1, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 1 of these past winners lobbied Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) since 2024 (6 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Veterans Affairs, Dept of (VA) job
  • No corporate PAC money from them to the overseeing committees since 2024
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 0 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 25 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 0 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 0 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.