Special NoticePosted Sep 10, 2026·Responses due Sep 25, 2026

NMR Spectrometer Service

NAVSEA, naval shipyards and surface/undersea warfare centers · NSWC INDIAN HEAD DIVISION

Stage
Early notice (sources sought, presolicitation or special notice)
NAICS
Not stated
Value
Not stated
Solicitation
N00174-26-SIMACQ-E61-0029
Set-aside
None stated
PSC
Not stated
Place
Indian Head, MD, USA
Contact
Jimmy Ludwick (james.e.ludwick2.civ@us.navy.mil)
Loading your pipeline and notes…
CSV Email

Capture briefs (a one-page, shareable copy of this page) are part of Pro. The CSV here holds the notice, its timeline and past awards.

Where this opportunity stands

Every notice posted under solicitation N00174-26-SIMACQ-E61-0029 in this department, oldest first.

Early notice
  • Sep 10, 2026 · this notice
    Special Notice
Solicitation
None posted
Award
Not yet. Typical award: Nov 21, 2026 to Jun 22, 2027, middle of the range Feb 10, 2027.
Measured from 3964 past early notices at Dept of the Navy that later posted an award (middle half of cases, counted from Sep 10, 2026).

Next steps for this stage

Standard steps for the notice type; not advice about this buyer.

  • Answer the notice: this is when the requirement can still be shaped.
  • Contact the contracting officer named on the notice.
  • Check who won similar work; they are the likely bidders.

What the notice says

THIS IS A NOTICE OF INTENT TO SOLE SOURCE, NOT A REQUEST FOR A QUOTE (RFQ). A RFQ WILL NOT BE ISSUED AND QUOTES WILL NOT BE REQUESTED. Naval Surface Warfare Center Indian Head Division (NSWC IHD) intends to award a firm fixed price contract on a noncompetitive basis to: MathWorks, 3 Apple Hill Drive, Natick, MA 01760-2098: (508)647-7000. POC: T.Bridges ; to provide: SERVICE: Preventative Maintenance and Support for Avance 600MHz NMR Spectrometer: 1 MATLAB (MLSMS) QTY: 1 License: 41115463 1 MATLAB (MLSMS) QTY: 1 License : 41115464 1 MATLAB (MLSMS) QTY: 1 License : 41115465 1 Image Processing To… (show all)

olbox (IPSMS) � QTY: 1 1 MATLAB Report Generator (MRSMS)- QTY: 1 1 MATLAB (MLSMS) QTY: 1 License : 4128539 2 MATLAB (MLSMS) QTY: 2 2 Simulink (SLSMS) QTY: 1 Parallel Computing Toolbox (DMSMS) QTY: 1 Maintenance and Support Option Year 1/2/3/4 Period of Performance: Not to Exceed/Days after Contract: NTE 1year after date of contract. Pursuant to authority of FAR 13.106-1(b) for soliciting to one source action. The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) for this requirement is 811210. The PSC is J066. The resulting contract will be a firm fixed price contract This Notice of Intent is not a request for quotes. Interested parties may identify their interests and capability to respond to this requirement by Sept 25, 2026, by 10AM (EST). Any response to this notice must show clear and convincing evidence that competition would be advantageous to the Government. Information received will be considered solely for the purpose of determining whether or not to conduct a competitive procurement. The determination not to compete this proposed contract action is solely within the discretion of the Government. The Government will not be responsible for any costs incurred by responding to this notice. Responses to this electronic notice must be made by Sept 25, 2026, by 10AM (EST). Interested vendors must be registered in the System for Award Management (SAM) at:https://www.sam.gove/portal/public/SAM. Oral communications are not acceptable in response to this notice. Interested parties shall e-mail all statements, quotes, and capabilities to James Ludwick, via email: james.e.ludwick2.civ@us.navy.mil and must provide clear and concise documentation indicating a vendor's bona fide capability.

Who won similar work

1446 award notices on SAM.gov in the last 24 months. Matched by: Same agency (NAVSEA, naval shipyards and surface/undersea warfare centers), any industry: a loose match.

Loose match: same agency, any industry. Read the titles before treating these as competitors.

Single-winner award sizes (1406): middle half $108K to $10.5M, median $670K; range $585 to $29.8B.

WinnerAwardsValueLast
NORTHROP GRUMMAN SYSTEMS CORPORATION · $NOC · $39.3B31$3.2BOct 9, 2026
RAYTHEON COMPANY · $RTX · $68.9B26$12.6BOct 8, 2026
Lockheed Martin Corporation · $LMT · $67.6B25$8.9BOct 7, 2026
ELECTRIC BOAT CORPORATION · $GD · $42.3B15$52.3BSep 30, 2026
L3 Technologies Inc. · $LHX · $19.4B15$1.1BOct 15, 2026
Rockwell Automation Inc. · $ROK · $9.1B15$3.1MOct 15, 2026
BAE SYSTEMS LAND & ARMAMENTS L.P.14$670.0MSep 30, 2026
UNITED RENTALS (NORTH AMERICA), INC.13$12.5MSep 24, 2026
RIX INDUSTRIES Benicia CA 94510 USA13$1.4MMay 19, 2026
Delphinus Engineering LLC10$3.9B + 1 sharedSep 24, 2026

Value counts single-winner awards. "Shared" awards are multiple-award contracts that list every winner with the same total ceiling; that ceiling is not one company's win, so it is not added in. Revenue next to a ticker is the company's last annual revenue from its 10-K.

Investor context
  • $NOC reported $39.3B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 1406 past awards, $670K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $RTX reported $68.9B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 1406 past awards, $670K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $LMT reported $67.6B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 1406 past awards, $670K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $GD reported $42.3B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 1406 past awards, $670K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $LHX reported $19.4B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 1406 past awards, $670K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K
  • $ROK reported $9.1B revenue in FY2025. The median single-winner award in these 1406 past awards, $670K, is under 0.1% of that. 10-K

One award's total value against one year of revenue; many awards are paid over several years.

Latest awards

Materiality: one award's value as a share of the winner's revenue over the latest 12 months in its SEC filings (or its last fiscal year, as noted when you point at it). Low under 1%, Medium 1 to 5%, High 5% or more. Many awards are paid over several years, so this overstates a single year's share.

Competitive landscape

For the 8 most frequent past winners above. Lobbying is matched by the company's exact name or exact ticker; agencies are as named on the filings.

  • 3 of these past winners lobbied Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines since 2024 (35 filings)
  • 0 of their lobbyists list a past Navy, Dept of or U.S. Marines job
  • $1.8M from their corporate PACs since 2024 to members of House Committee on Appropriations, House Committee on Armed Services, Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senate Committee on Armed Services
  • 0 foreign-agent (FARA) registrations
See who and the source records with Pro

Policy around it

Bills the past winners named while lobbying this agency's issues, rules from the department, and executive orders that name the agency, last 12 months.

  • 8 bills named on the past winners' lobbying filings
  • 32 rules from the department in the last 12 months
  • 0 executive orders naming the agency in the last 12 months
See who and the source records with Pro

Market

For past winners matched exactly to a listed company. Insider trades are open-market buys and sells (Form 4) in the last 90 days, shown as facts; our own study found insiders do not reliably buy ahead of awards. A sale marked 10b5-1 was made under a trading plan set up in advance.

  • 6 of the past winners are listed companies
  • 0 insider buys and 13 insider sells at them in the last 90 days
See who and the source records with Pro

Sources: SAM.gov notices and award notices; Senate LDA lobbying filings; FEC filings; FARA; Federal Register; congress.gov; SEC Form 4. Every row above links to its record.

Companies are matched to tickers by exact name only. A company we could not match shows no market rows; that is a miss, not a finding.